European nations back winter switch of Qatar world cup

September 20, 2013 1:00 pm

European nations back winter switch of Qatar world cup

London 20th September 2013: 54 nations of Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) have yesterday given their support to switch the 2022 World Cup in Qatar from summer to the winter at the executive committee meeting in Croatia.

Uefa agreed that a summer event will impossible in the Middle Eastern country at 50 C temperatures.

Fifa vice-president Jim Boyce said question is now whether the world cup would be played in January of 2022 or in November and December of that year.

However there could be clash in the future over whether the tournament is played in January 2022 or November or December of that year.

FIFA would prefer November or December so that it does not clash with the winter Olympics. Uefa would prefer January so that it would not affect the Champions League.  While British associations want to make sure their Christmas and New Year fixtures are protected for domestic football.

Boyce said: “There is still nine years to go and people feel FIFA should sit down with all the major stakeholders and come up with a solution that would cause the minimum disruption to football. There is plenty of time to do that in my opinion, and hopefully football will be the winner.”

The European backing is a great deal because Uefa associations make up 10 out of 22 Fifa’s executive committee members. FIFA’s executive committee, which will make the final decision, is now expected to alter the timing of 2022 world cup to the winter at its meeting next month.


About the Author

Muhammad Tahim is the Sports Editor for Qatar Chronicle.He is an alumnus of the University of Liverpool and has 8 valuable years of experience as a freelance media columnist for various magazines in Qatar. Before joining Qatar Chronicle, he was the sub- editor in a few International magazines. A die-hard football fan and ameteur tennis player, he roots for Manchester United, Barcelona, Paris St. Germain and Novak Djokovic.

Leave A Response